Halloween Wreath DIY

I have been trying to find the perfect Halloween wreath since fall stuff started hitting the shelves, but I didn’t want to pay $20 or more for one. I decided I could just make my own, but it had to be under $20 or what was the point?! I was inspired by these 2 wreaths, here and here.

I got all my supplies at Hobby Lobby, when ribbon was half off and I used their 40% off one item coupon from the HL app.

Supplies:

Foam wreath form. (mine was 17″, but they come smaller or bigger)

wreathblank

Ribbon (I used a thick wire edged ribbon. I used one whole 18 yard roll and a smidge of a second roll)

Halloween Decorations of your choice (i picked 2 little monsters and a pumpkin, only a couple dollars each, and 40% off on top of that.)

wreathvampfrank

Staple Gun

Glue Gun

Scrap Ribbon (optional)

Super Simple Wreath Tutorial Steps

Step 1

wreathstaple

Using your staple gun, staple the edge of your ribbon to the backside of your wreath.

Step 2

wreathwrap

Start wrapping your ribbon and pulling it tight. Every 3 to four wraps put a few staples into the back side to keep it from loosening as you go.

wreath1roll

This is how far one roll of ribbon got me.

Step 3

wreathhang1

When you’ve finished wrapping, keep a long tail of ribbon to make the loop for the door hanger.

wreathloop

Make the loop, with the end of your ribbon to the inside of your wreath.

wreathsidehanger

This is how it should look from the side.

wreathhanger

Add 3 staples with your staple gun to secure the ribbon.

Step 4

wreathpumpkinred

This pumpkin came on a little stick, which I broke 1/2 off and stuck through the ribbon and foam. The decorations that come on sticks are an easy way to decorate. You could stick some out of the top of the wreath too. (I added a bit of hot glue to the edges to stabilize the pumpkin.)

Step 5

wreathglue

Add a bit of hot glue to the back of your flat decorations, and glue to the front of your wreath.

wreathcloseup2

Step 6

wreathbow

I tied a quick bow with some ribbon I already had at home to add a little pop of color.

wreath

I think you could do lots of fun things with this wreath, and any number or color combinations using ribbon. I almost thought to use all decorations on sticks, so I could remove them and put Christmas-y ones up in a couple months.

Happy Halloween! Let me know if you make a wreath for your home, I’d love to check it out!

7 thoughts on “Halloween Wreath DIY

  1. OMG! So sweet. I have been looking at all the Halloween wreaths on the internet and wanted to make one but I had no idea where to start. So excited to try this one myself. 🙂

  2. Pingback: How To Make A Halloween Wreath | this man's journey

Leave a Reply

