Castle In The Sky

bluesky

This illustration is a few years old, and based on Hayao Miyazaki’s first movie released by Studio Ghibli, Castle in the Sky. I used a page of my moleskine, ink and pastels to achieve my interpretation sketch.

Picture 2

This is my husband’s other favorite Miyazaki film, and we watch it the most to fall asleep to. I am in love with the artwork from the opening credits of the movie.

Picture 5

The simple lines, washed colors and haunting melody set the tone of this enchanting movie. It’s hard for me to believe that his movie is from the 80’s, but like all Miyazaki films, they are timeless. This movie also makes me want to read Jonathan Swift’s novel Gulliver’s Travels, which was a major influence for the movie.

Here is the trailer for the movie (featuring the voices of a young James Van Der Beek and Anna Paquin) that will give you an idea of this crazy adventure of a movie.

Have you seen Castle in the Sky? What are your thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Castle In The Sky

  1. Hey there! I really like your blog– and this post, especially! I went to Japan (and the Ghibli Museum last year.) I’ve got all sorts of Miyazaki related stuff that maybe you’d like? Have a good night!

  2. I haven’t watched Castle in the Sky since it first came out on VHS. I need to see it again: )

    Have you seen Ranma 1/2? Hulu and Viz Anime are now streaming the old episodes. It’s one of the first anime I got into. Super fun: )

Leave a Reply

